Cosmetology license in North Carolina: cost, hours and steps

North Carolina's two NIC exams through Prov cost $168 together, and the board adds $49 for the license.

Each retake is paid again

Your quote; no board publishes it

More options

Your schedule

Cosmetology license fees in North Carolina

$217

paid to the state and its exam and fingerprint vendors

Application and license$49
Exams$168
Training: 1,500 school hoursabout 50 weeks
Renewal feenot on the pages read

Cosmetologist license. Fees read on official pages, October 20, 2026.

How this is computed
Each fee in North Carolina, as the board or its vendor lists it
FeeAmount
Initial in-state cosmetologist license$49
Cosmetologist - Theory (Prov, NIC)$84
Cosmetologist - Practical (Prov, NIC)$84

Compiled by Radif Partners · How the totals are built · North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners · read October 20, 2026

A first cosmetologist license in North Carolina costs $217 in fees: $84 for the theory exam and $84 for the practical exam, both national NIC tests registered and paid through Prov, plus $49 for the initial in-state license issued by the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners. The exams make up most of that total, and each is paid again on a retake. North Carolina sits 5th from the top of the 15 states priced here, above the median of $163. The school curriculum is 1,500 hours, about 50 weeks at 30 hours a week; a 1200-hour apprentice curriculum exists, but it leads to an apprentice cosmetologist license rather than the full one. Once the board has a complete application and payment, it issues and mails the license within 5 to 10 business days. The renewal fee on the current form is $49.

Prov runs both exams

North Carolina uses the national NIC exams, and candidates register with Prov, which collects the fees at registration. Prov's information page for the board lists the cosmetologist theory test at $84 and the practical at the same $84. The two are booked and paid separately, so a failed practical means one more $84 payment, not a second pair.

North Carolina Prov exam fees with a retake

Cosmetology exam fees in North Carolina

$336

First attempt$168
Each retake adds$168
All first-license fees$385
Open the full calculator →

The board's own fees

The initial in-state cosmetologist license is $49 on the board's fee schedule. The same record notes a temporary permit at $5; it is not part of the first-license total counted here. Licenses are issued and mailed 5 to 10 business days after the board receives a complete application with payment.

School curriculum or apprentice license

The standard path is 1,500 hours in the cosmetologist curriculum of an approved cosmetic art school. The 1200-hour apprentice curriculum is shorter but ends with an apprentice cosmetologist license, a different credential from the cosmetologist license priced on this page. If your goal is the full license, plan around the 1,500 hours, about 50 weeks at 30 hours a week, and choose a school whose curriculum the board approves.

North Carolina cosmetic art school in weeks

Cosmetology training in North Carolina

50 weeks

Required hours1,500
Months at that pace11.5
First-license fees$217
Open the full calculator →

Renewal and continuing education

The current renewal form, updated on July 1, 2026, lists $49 for a cosmetology license. It does not state the length of the license cycle, so this page does not project renewals over time. The board's continuing education page asks each licensee to earn eight hours of CE per year of the license cycle.

Transferring from another state

Licensees from the states on the board's list transfer without an exam for a $64 cosmetologist fee; some states must send a certification directly to the board. If your state is not listed, expect to test. The cosmetology license comparison shows where the Prov exams put North Carolina among other states, and Washington is another Prov state.

Every cosmetology fee in North Carolina, with its source

Cosmetologist license. Fee schedule dated July 1, 2026. Pages read on October 20, 2026.
FeeAmountIn the totalRead on
Initial in-state cosmetologist license$49countedsource
Cosmetologist - Theory (Prov, NIC)$84 per attemptcountedsource
Cosmetologist - Practical (Prov, NIC)$84 per attemptcountedsource
RenewalValue
Cyclenot read on an official page
Fee$49
Continuing educationnot read on an official page
Required training1,500 school hours. 1500 hours in an approved cosmetic art school cosmetologist curriculum; alternative: 1200-hour apprentice curriculum leads to an apprentice cosmetologist license.

Questions applicants ask

How much does a North Carolina cosmetology license cost in 2026?

$217 at the first attempt: $84 for the NIC theory exam and $84 for the practical, both paid to Prov, and $49 for the initial license from the Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners. School tuition for 1,500 hours is not included.

Does the North Carolina apprentice curriculum lead to a full cosmetologist license?

No. The 1200-hour apprentice curriculum leads to an apprentice cosmetologist license. The full cosmetologist license priced on this page requires 1,500 hours in an approved cosmetic art school's cosmetologist curriculum, followed by the two NIC exams registered and paid through Prov.

How much continuing education do North Carolina cosmetologists need?

Eight hours per year of the license cycle, according to the board's continuing education page. The renewal fee on the form dated July 1, 2026 is $49. The form does not state the cycle length, so check your license's expiration date to know how many hours fall due at each renewal.

Next steps

Board pages and handbooks behind this page

Compiled by

Independent publisher of occupational license fee tables compiled from state licensing boards and their official exam vendors

Fees checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Totals add the fees that each state board and its official exam and fingerprint vendors publish. School tuition is yours to enter, since no board sets it. A board can change a fee at any time; the amount on its own page wins over ours.

Fee schedules of 2026, board pages last read on