Real estate license in New Jersey: cost, hours and steps

New Jersey bundles three state charges into one $160 payment and adds a $38 PSI exam, for $198 in all.

Each retake is paid again

Your quote; no board publishes it

More options

Your schedule

Real estate license fees in New Jersey

$198

paid to the state and its exam and fingerprint vendors

Application and license$150
Exams$38
Other state fees$10
Training: 75 pre-licensing course hoursabout 5 weeks
Renewal feenot on the pages read

Not counted, amount set by a vendor and not published: fingerprinting fee charged by the state's fingerprint vendor. Real estate salesperson license. Fees read on official pages, October 20, 2026.

How this is computed
Each fee in New Jersey, as the board or its vendor lists it
FeeAmount
Application fee (part of $160 paid to State Treasurer)$50
License fee (2-year license)$100
Real Estate Guaranty Fund$10
Salesperson examination (PSI)$38

Compiled by Radif Partners · How the totals are built · New Jersey Real Estate Commission (Department of Banking and Insurance) · read October 20, 2026

A New Jersey real estate salesperson license costs $198 in fees for a candidate who passes the exam on the first try. The PSI candidate bulletin splits that into an examination fee of $38, paid to PSI for each attempt, and a single $160 payment to the State Treasurer that combines a $50 application fee, a $100 license fee for the two-year license and $10 for the Real Estate Guaranty Fund. Among the 20 states priced on this site, 9 charge less, and the median is $203. Before the exam you complete a 75-hour pre-licensure course at a licensed school, and the eligibility it gives lapses one year after it is issued. Fingerprinting comes after the exam, and the license application has to go through an employing broker within one year. The license runs two years with 12 hours of continuing education per term; the renewal fee was not on the official pages read.

Two payees, four charges

New Jersey candidates write two checks, not four. The first goes to PSI, the testing company that runs the salesperson examination, at $38 per sitting. The second goes to the State Treasurer once the exam is passed, and it is the sum of three lines printed in the PSI bulletin: an application fee of $50, a license fee of $100 that covers the full two-year license term, and a Guaranty Fund contribution of $10. The Guaranty Fund is the pool the Real Estate Commission uses to compensate consumers who win a judgment against a licensee and cannot collect it.

These amounts come from the bulletin as updated on February 1, 2026. The bulletin itself warns that license fees are subject to change, so check the version PSI sends you when you register. The exam fee is the only line that repeats: someone who needs a second sitting adds $38, not another $160.

New Jersey fees if the PSI exam takes more than one sitting

Real estate exam fees in New Jersey

$76

First attempt$38
Each retake adds$38
All first-license fees$236
Open the full calculator →

The sequence, from classroom to license

Everything starts with the 75-hour pre-licensure course, taken at a school the Commission licenses. Completing it makes you eligible for the state test, but that eligibility expires one year after it is issued. Within that year you sit the PSI examination. Fingerprinting comes next, through the state's IdentoGO vendor, and only then does an employing broker submit your license application. New Jersey does not issue a salesperson license to someone working alone: the application runs through the broker who will hold your license, and it must be filed within one year of passing.

What the $198 leaves out

Fingerprinting is mandatory, but the vendor fee for it was not stated in the PSI bulletin or the Commission pages read for this record, so the calculator does not count it. Tuition for the course is also outside the total, because no board sets it. Expect the real cash outlay to be the $198 shown here plus those two items.

Keeping the license

All New Jersey real estate licenses are issued on a two-year term. To renew, a salesperson completes 12 hours of continuing education during the term, following the Commission's breakdown of required topics. The renewal fee itself did not appear on the official pages we read, so this page and the calculator leave it blank rather than guess. Compare renewal costs where they are known on the renewal cost comparison.

Every real estate fee in New Jersey, with its source

Real estate salesperson license. Fee schedule dated February 1, 2026. Pages read on October 20, 2026.
FeeAmountIn the totalRead on
Application fee (part of $160 paid to State Treasurer)$50countedsource
License fee (2-year license)$100countedsource
Real Estate Guaranty Fund$10countedsource
Salesperson examination (PSI)$38 per attemptcountedsource
Fingerprinting fee charged by the state's fingerprint vendornot read on an official pageset by the vendor
RenewalValue
Cycleevery 2 years
Feenot read on an official page
Continuing education12 hours per cycle
Required training75 pre-licensing course hours. 75-hour pre-licensure course at a licensed school; eligibility expires one year after issue.

Questions applicants ask

What is the total cost of a New Jersey real estate salesperson license in 2026?

$198 in fees at the first attempt: $38 to PSI for the examination and $160 to the State Treasurer, which covers the application, the two-year license and the Guaranty Fund. Fingerprinting is required too, but its vendor fee was not stated in the documents read, and course tuition is set by each school.

How long is New Jersey real estate course eligibility valid?

One year from the date it is issued. Once the school certifies that you completed the 75-hour pre-licensure course, you have one year to pass the PSI salesperson examination. If the year runs out first, the course has to be repeated before you can test again, with tuition paid a second time.

Can I get a New Jersey real estate license without a sponsoring broker?

No. The license application is submitted through an employing broker, and it has to reach the Commission within one year of passing the exam. Arrange the broker relationship before or soon after the test so the year does not lapse. Fingerprinting through the state vendor is also completed after the exam and before the license is issued.

Next steps

Board pages and handbooks behind this page

Compiled by

Independent publisher of occupational license fee tables compiled from state licensing boards and their official exam vendors

Fees checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Totals add the fees that each state board and its official exam and fingerprint vendors publish. School tuition is yours to enter, since no board sets it. A board can change a fee at any time; the amount on its own page wins over ours.

Fee schedules of 2026, board pages last read on