Cosmetology license in Wisconsin: cost, hours and steps

Wisconsin collects its state fees inside the two exam payments to D.L. Roope, for a first-license total of $314.50.

Each retake is paid again

Your quote; no board publishes it

More options

Your schedule

Cosmetology license fees in Wisconsin

$315

paid to the state and its exam and fingerprint vendors

Exams$315
Training: 1,550 school hoursabout 52 weeks
Renewals in 5 years, every 2 years2 × $11 = $22

Cosmetologist license. Fees read on official pages, October 20, 2026.

How this is computed
Each fee in Wisconsin, as the board or its vendor lists it
FeeAmount
Practical exam, first time (D.L. Roope / Prometric; includes DSPS fees and exam fee)$177
Written exam, first time (NIC written + WI law, computerized via IQT; includes DSPS fees and exam fee)$138

Compiled by Radif Partners · How the totals are built · Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board (Department of Safety and Professional Services) · read October 20, 2026

A first Wisconsin cosmetologist license costs $314.50 in fees, and all of it is paid to the exam administrator, D.L. Roope: $177 for the practical exam and $137.50 for the written exam, which combines the national NIC written test with a Wisconsin law section on computer through IQT. Both totals, by D.L. Roope's own description, include the fees of the Department of Safety and Professional Services, so there is no separate credential payment to the state at the first license. Wisconsin is the 2nd most expensive of the 15 states priced here (median $163). Training is at least 1,550 hours spread over no less than 10 months in a licensed cosmetology school, about 52 weeks at 30 hours a week, or an apprenticeship. Renewal is cheap: $11 every two years.

Two exam payments that include the state's fees

The Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board (Department of Safety and Professional Services) does not bill a cosmetology candidate directly at the start. Instead, D.L. Roope's Wisconsin registration form gives a total practical fee of $177 and a total written fee of $137.50, each stated to include the department's fees and D.L. Roope's exam fee. Both exams are required, and fees paid to D.L. Roope stay valid for one year. Each attempt is a new payment, so a failed practical repeats the larger of the two amounts.

Two details are worth knowing. The same form shows a second, higher practical block that appears to be for instructors; this page uses the regular candidate amount. And applying online adds a card processing fee per exam, a vendor charge left out of the totals here.

Wisconsin exam totals across attempts

Cosmetology exam fees in Wisconsin

$629

First attempt$315
Each retake adds$315
All first-license fees$629
Open the full calculator →

1,550 hours over at least 10 months

Wisconsin sets both an hour count and a calendar floor: at least 1,550 training hours in not less than 10 months at a licensed school. Even a student able to log more hours per week cannot finish faster than that. Apprenticeship under Wisconsin statute is the other route, though the department page read for this site does not state its hour count. Applicants must have graduated from high school or be at least 18.

Wisconsin cosmetology school at your pace

Cosmetology training in Wisconsin

52 weeks

Required hours1,550
Months at that pace11.9
First-license fees$315
Open the full calculator →

Renewal on a fixed date

Cosmetologist credentials renew for $11 on March 31 of odd-numbered years. Renewal includes an attestation concerning the Cosmetology Digest; no continuing education hour count was found on the department page. Ten years of renewals come to $55, a small sum next to the exams.

Endorsement

Cosmetologists with an active, discipline-free license in another state can apply for licensure by endorsement and skip the D.L. Roope exams. The cosmetology license comparison shows Wisconsin next to the other states, and Washington is the other state where the exam fees push the total highest.

Every cosmetology fee in Wisconsin, with its source

Cosmetologist license. Pages read on October 20, 2026.
FeeAmountIn the totalRead on
Practical exam, first time (D.L. Roope / Prometric; includes DSPS fees and exam fee)$177 per attemptcountedsource
Written exam, first time (NIC written + WI law, computerized via IQT; includes DSPS fees and exam fee)$137.50 per attemptcountedsource
RenewalValue
Cycleevery 2 years
Fee$11
Continuing educationnot read on an official page
Required training1,550 school hours. At least 1550 training hours in not less than 10 months in a licensed cosmetology school, or an apprenticeship under Wisconsin statute (apprenticeship hours not stated on the DSPS page).

Questions applicants ask

How much does a Wisconsin cosmetology license cost in 2026?

$314.50 at the first attempt: $177 for the practical exam and $137.50 for the written exam, both paid to D.L. Roope with the state's fees included. An online card processing fee per exam is not counted. Tuition for the 1,550 school hours is separate.

How long does Wisconsin cosmetology school take at minimum?

At least 1,550 training hours, completed over not less than 10 months in a licensed school. The calendar floor applies even to students who could log more hours per week. At 30 hours a week the hours alone take about 52 weeks.

When do Wisconsin cosmetology licenses expire?

On March 31 of odd-numbered years, with a $11 renewal fee each two-year cycle. The renewal includes an attestation to the Cosmetology Digest. No continuing education hour requirement was found on the department's credential page read for this site, so none is counted here.

Next steps

Board pages and handbooks behind this page

Compiled by

Independent publisher of occupational license fee tables compiled from state licensing boards and their official exam vendors

Fees checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Totals add the fees that each state board and its official exam and fingerprint vendors publish. School tuition is yours to enter, since no board sets it. A board can change a fee at any time; the amount on its own page wins over ours.

Fee schedules of 2026, board pages last read on