How to become a notary: fees, bond and term in your state

Pick your state: the commission fee, any exam and filing charge, the bond the law requires and the length of the commission appear at once.

Each retake is paid again

Your quote; no board publishes it

More options

Your schedule

Notary license fees in New York

$75

paid to the state and its exam and fingerprint vendors

Application and license$60
Exams$15
Required trainingnone in hours
Renewals in 5 years, every 4 years1 × $60 = $60

Notary public commission. Fees read on official pages, October 20, 2026.

How this is computed
Each fee in New York, as the board or its vendor lists it
FeeAmount
Initial application$60
Written exam$15

Compiled by Radif Partners · How the totals are built · fees read on board pages and exam handbooks, October 20, 2026

Becoming a notary public costs between $10 and $200 in state fees, with a median of $42 across the 20 states priced here. Colorado and Kentucky charge the least; Louisiana the most, because it adds a mandatory pre-assessment and a $100 state exam to its application and filing fees. Most states ask for a commission application paid to the Secretary of State, and some add an oath or filing charge at the county or a test fee. 10 of the 20 states also require a surety bond, from $1,000 in Kentucky to $50,000 in Louisiana: that figure is the coverage the law demands, not your price, since an insurer sets the premium, and it is not counted in the totals. Only California, Florida and Pennsylvania set a course length in hours. A commission usually runs 4 to 10 years before it must be renewed.

The path to a commission, step by step

A notary is not licensed by a professional board but commissioned by a state officer, usually the Secretary of State. Washington runs its program through the Department of Licensing, Utah through the Lieutenant Governor's office and New Jersey through the Department of the Treasury. The sequence is short in most states: meet the residency or employment rule, complete the course and pass the exam where the state requires them, file the application with its fee, then take the oath and, in bonded states, file the bond. Only after that last step does the commission take effect.

The oath step has its own deadline, and missing it voids the appointment in several states. California gives new notaries thirty calendar days from the start of the term to file the oath and bond with the county clerk. Pennsylvania allows forty-five days to execute the bond, register the signature and record everything with the recorder of deeds. Virginia invalidates a commission not claimed at the Circuit Court within sixty days, and New Jersey voids one if the oath is not taken before the county clerk within three months.

What the state fees cover

In several states the bill is a single line. Minnesota charges $120 for the commission application and Connecticut $120, which already includes the exam taken inside the online application. Colorado asks only $10, and its training and exam are free through the Secretary of State's online course. Other states split the charge between the state and the county: Maryland bills $25 to apply, then the Clerk of the Circuit Court collects $10 for the commission plus a registration fee; Virginia adds $10 at the Circuit Court clerk to its $45 application; North Carolina $10 at the Register of Deeds.

Louisiana sits at the top for a reason. An applicant who is not an attorney pays $35 for the Application to Qualify, $30 for a mandatory exam pre-assessment, $100 to register for the state exam and $35 to file the commission documents, $200 in all. The exam is given regionally at least twice a year, and no out-of-state commission lets you skip it.

Notary commission fees in every state priced here

Notary license fees, median of 20 states

$42

Lowest: Colorado$10
Highest: Louisiana$200
States priced20
Open the full calculator →

Course and exam: where they are required

California asks for the longest course: 6 hours of approved study before the first appointment, then a written exam whose sitting is covered by the $40 application; a retake costs $20. Florida requires 3 hours of instruction within a year before applying but no state exam. Pennsylvania wants a 3-hour course within six months before every application, and first-time applicants also take a Pearson VUE exam at $65 per test. New York and Utah test without any course: $15 for the New York written exam, $40 for the Utah online exam. New Jersey's online exam can cost up to $15, and Oregon's mandatory training is free. Colorado, Maryland, North Carolina and Oregon all require training followed by an exam without printing a length in hours; in North Carolina the course is taught at a community college or university, and in Maryland by an authorized provider.

At the other end, Minnesota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Kentucky and Washington set no education or exam requirement for a new notary, although Washington's licensing department strongly urges a class. Virginia belongs to that group in 2026, but legislation adds a mandatory course and written exam for applications from July 1, 2027. Private courses beyond these rules are optional, and no state sets their price.

The surety bond is coverage, not a fee

A bond protects the public against a notary's mistakes; it does not protect the notary. The law fixes the amount of coverage, and you buy the bond from a surety company, which charges a premium based on its own rates. That premium is not published by any state, so the totals on this site leave it out. Bond amounts vary more than fees do. Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina and Virginia require no bond in the records read.

Notary surety bond amounts set by law, with fees and term
StateBond requiredState feesCommission term
Kentucky$1,000$10not stated
Arizona$5,000$434 years
Utah$5,000$954 years
Florida$7,500$394 years
Missouri$10,000$254 years
Oklahoma$10,000$754 years
Washington$10,000$404 years
California$15,000$404 years
Pennsylvania$25,000$1074 years
Louisiana$50,000$200not stated

Term, renewal and moving states

A commission lasts 4 years or more: 12 of the states priced here use a four-year term, Connecticut and Minnesota five, and South Carolina 10. Renewal is cheaper in some states, Connecticut charging $60 instead of the first fee, and more demanding in others: California asks for a three-hour refresher course and Pennsylvania the same 3 hours as the first course. Florida has no automatic reappointment, so each new commission goes through the full application. A commission is valid only in the state that issued it, and most states require residence or a place of work there; Louisiana and California accept no out-of-state commission in place of their own exam. The renewal page compares what keeping each license costs over time.

A notary commission over ten years

Notary license in New York, 10 years

$195

First license$75
Renewals2 × $60
Continuing education0 hours
Open the full calculator →

Notary public: the 20 states we could price

Fees for a first license, first attempt at each exam, lowest first. Hours: education hours. A state is listed only when every fee an applicant must pay could be read on an official page.
StateHoursFirst-license feesRenewalSource
Coloradonot set$10$10 every 4 yrboard
Kentucky0$10$10board
Missouri0$25$25 every 4 yrboard
South Carolina0$25$25 every 10 yrboard
Marylandnot set$36$36 every 4 yrboard
Florida3$39$39 every 4 yrboard
California6$40$40 every 4 yrboard
New Jerseynot set$40$25board
Oregonnot set$40$40board
Washington0$40$42 every 4 yrboard
Arizona0$43$43 every 4 yrboard
Virginia0$55$45 every 4 yrboard
North Carolinanot set$60$50board
New York0$75$60 every 4 yrboard
Oklahoma0$75$45 every 4 yrboard
Utah0$95not readboard
Pennsylvania3$107$42 every 4 yrboard
Connecticut0$120$60 every 5 yrboard
Minnesota0$120$120 every 5 yrboard
Louisiana0$200$20board

Questions applicants ask

How much does it cost to become a notary public?

In state fees, from $10 in Colorado to $200 in Louisiana, with a median of $42 across the 20 states priced here. The total covers the application, any exam and the oath or filing charges. A surety bond premium comes on top in bonded states, and so does any optional private course; insurers and schools set those prices, not the state.

Does every state require a notary surety bond?

No. 10 of the 20 states priced here require one, from $1,000 of coverage in Kentucky to $50,000 in Louisiana. The amount is what the bond must cover, not what you pay: a surety company sets the premium. The bond is filed with the oath, at the county clerk in California, Kentucky and Missouri, with the Secretary of State in Arizona and Oklahoma.

Do I have to take a notary exam?

It depends on the state. California, Colorado, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania and Utah test new applicants, and Connecticut builds its exam into the online application. Florida requires 3 hours of instruction but no exam, and states such as Minnesota and Oklahoma require neither. Attorneys are exempt from the exam in New York and Louisiana.

How long is a notary commission valid before renewal?

Between 4 and 10 years in the states whose term was read. Four years is the most common, Connecticut and Minnesota use five, and South Carolina 10. Renewal fees can differ from the first fee, and some states, California and Pennsylvania among them, require a refresher course before each new term.

Can I become a notary in a state where I do not live?

Several states commission nonresidents who work there: Kentucky, Missouri, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Washington accept applicants employed in the state, New York those with an office there, and Minnesota any nonresident who records the commission in a designated county. California and Florida require legal residence, and Louisiana never waives its exam for notaries from other states.

Next steps

Board pages and handbooks behind this page

Compiled by

Independent publisher of occupational license fee tables compiled from state licensing boards and their official exam vendors

Fees checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Totals add the fees that each state board and its official exam and fingerprint vendors publish. School tuition is yours to enter, since no board sets it. A board can change a fee at any time; the amount on its own page wins over ours.

Fee schedules of 2026, board pages last read on